Spring Book Work

This month I’ve done the stuff artists do when they are not being creative: writing proposals, organizing photos, framing pictures, burning screens for silk screen printing, and so on.

I made time a few weeks ago for a fun class on making soft cover books with sewn straps and paste-paper covers. Kris Westerson was the instructor, and you can find her work at http://www.kriswesterson.com/Kris_Westerson/Home.html The class was held at Redux Studios in Charleston.

Kris took this sequence of photos:

Image

Making paste paper

Image

More paste paper

Image

Sewing straps

Image

Lexi and Linnie with finished books

 

My book has a purpose.  It will be my art journal on an upcoming trip to Mozambique.  But next up is the Flannery O’Connor parade in Savannah, Georgia next Sunday.  The puppet heads are coming along–they will  be part of my costume.

Image

About Lillian-Trettin

I grew up in the Appalachian "Bible Belt" of East Tennessee in the southern United States, listening to banjo music and gospel lyrics as well as the Beatles. As a kid, I was curious about religious rituals like speaking in tongues and snake handling but resistant to the fundamentalist thinking they involved. Flannery O'Connor's tales of religious fanatics, con men, bigots, and the spiritually bereft or ambivalent resonate for me. Despite having traveled widely and lived in other places, I am (as so many Southerners claim to be) permanently "South haunted." I returned to making art full time in 2011, following a career as a teacher, researcher, and consultant and after raising two sons. I’m convinced the delay enriched rather than impeded my growth as an artist.
This entry was posted in Current work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Book Work

  1. Beth Hannabass says:

    So glad your work is progressing. Certainly the predominant feature on the puppets is the knitted hats. Very intriguing!

  2. Katherine Hannabass says:

    those babies could really get into trouble. Their expressions are so suggestive of their mischief. I enjoyed the book making too and wish I could do it, but it looks like to much for me to try. KITTY

Leave a Reply

