Art Outdoors

These are some photos I took one night at “The Deck” (behind The Pour House), my favorite place in Charleston to go listen to local music and have a brew.  This was where I discovered that PBR has a competition for artists to design special beer cans for them.  I like the fact that there’s crazy art on the walls and you can look up into the trees and see the night sky once it gets dark.

Up next will be a post, soon I hope, about the process of opening electronic storefronts.

IMG_0061

IMG_0062 IMG_0063 IMG_0065

IMG_0066 IMG_0067 IMG_0068

IMG_0069

Playing that night: The Harrows.

IMG_0070

About Lillian-Trettin

I grew up in the Appalachian "Bible Belt" of East Tennessee in the southern United States, listening to banjo music and gospel lyrics as well as the Beatles. As a kid, I was curious about religious rituals like speaking in tongues and snake handling but resistant to the fundamentalist thinking they involved. Flannery O'Connor's tales of religious fanatics, con men, bigots, and the spiritually bereft or ambivalent resonate for me. Despite having traveled widely and lived in other places, I am (as so many Southerners claim to be) permanently "South haunted." I returned to making art full time in 2011, following a career as a teacher, researcher, and consultant and after raising two sons. I’m convinced the delay enriched rather than impeded my growth as an artist.
This entry was posted in The Other South. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

