My community art month

This is a good month for getting out there and sharing art with others. Also, Carl is in Africa for a month. so here’s how I am staying busy:

I am going to attend a “figure drawing” session at Redux Studios with a friend. This is a stretch for me since I now prefer making up bodies, but it never hurts to reintroduce a little drawing rigor.

Trettin_drawing

http://reduxstudios.org/events/sunday-figure-drawing/

 

After spending January on a tiny book project, 40 of us who participated (along with interested others) will congregate for a reception at Surface Gallery in Charleston on February 4.

My book: “Black Thoughts,” a Tyvek scrap book based on left over pieces from a series of papercuts inspired by Edgar Allan Poe

http://www.surfacegallerycharleston.com/

 

On February 14, a group of knitters and crochet-ers will finish making bright 3 foot squares to “love bomb” some industrial chimneys in a northern section of Charleston. How these squares are going to be attached remains to be seen, but trying should be fun and that’s what it’s all about. Something a little different for Valentine’s Day.

knitting

http://enoughpie.org/love-bomb/

 

I have two other “stand alone” projects to tackle. For an “Art Bash” at Del Ray Artisans in Alexandria VA, I’m planning a paper cut to submit by February 20. I’m very impressed with this organization because it functions like a true co-op (everybody works) and it’s where my kids live so I could visit them.

I am re envisioning my Nespresso coffee machine–I hope they like it (this is just the start of my process)

brew 1

http://www.thedelrayartisans.org/

 

Finally, I am starting to volunteer during art classes at the Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired in Charleston this month. With that in mind, I hope to submit something to an exhibit at the Harn Museum of Art at the University of Florida for a “touch tour,” but this will depend on how successful I am at making a touchable tree out of odds and ends by February 29, their submission deadline. That’s also my deadline—after that, whether the tree idea works or not, I am giving most of my recyclables to Redux to use in kids’ art classes. Time to let go of stuff.

touch tree

http://www.harn.ufl.edu/access

 

My plan for the Spring is to focus on finishing up for a couple of exhibits (almost ready) and then starting my second graphic novel project. It should take a long time and will keep me out of trouble (ie., cost nearly nothing to produce).

About Lillian-Trettin

I grew up in the Appalachian "Bible Belt" of East Tennessee in the southern United States, listening to banjo music and gospel lyrics as well as the Beatles. As a kid, I was curious about religious rituals like speaking in tongues and snake handling but resistant to the fundamentalist thinking they involved. Flannery O'Connor's tales of religious fanatics, con men, bigots, and the spiritually bereft or ambivalent resonate for me. Despite having traveled widely and lived in other places, I am (as so many Southerners claim to be) permanently "South haunted." I returned to making art full time in 2011, following a career as a teacher, researcher, and consultant and after raising two sons. I’m convinced the delay enriched rather than impeded my growth as an artist.
This entry was posted in Current work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

