New exhibits and a little political play

Here’s the scoop on some upcoming exhibits I’m participating in that I hope will interest you:

On and Off the Page

The City Gallery in Charleston is hosting an exhibit of book arts with work by more than 40 artists from across the United States, primarily the Southeast.

You’ll see book structures, illustrations, and prints from both contemporary and historic sources (the latter from the Waring Collection at MUSC)

Opening Reception is Sept 16, 5-7pm.
Show runs Sept 17 – Oct 30. Gallery hours 10-6 Tuesday through Friday, 12-5 Saturday and Sunday.
The City Gallery at Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Waterfront Park is located at 34 Prioleau in downtown Charleston.

 

onandoffsquareweb-copy

 

The Dark Edge

The Charleston Public Library is hosting my exhibit of cut paper works inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s lesser known stories (some creepy, some not) and stories with familiar southern settings.

The exhibit is on view during regular library hours at the Main Branch from October 2 through October 30.

Lillian Trettin_Poe Wallpaper_art

Poe Wallpaper

 

Earth and Fire

Del Ray Artisans in Alexandria VA is hosting a show of fine art pottery and wall art for the month of September and accepted my first experiment with the scroll as a form of 2D art.
This exhibit isn’t local but I get to see my kids any time something’s accepted there, so that makes me specially happy.

The Kiln Queen_Lillian Trettin_art

The Kiln Queen

 

Art Series I – “Fluid”

On September 15th, 2016, Collective Coffee in Mount Pleasant will play host to a gallery experience showing several artists’ interpretation of the theme “Fluid.”

The art will be on display from September 15th until October 27th.  I’m not in this one but it is a great idea and should be an interesting exhibit.

New Work

I’m at that uncomfortable stage of experimentation in a new project when I have multiple versions of drawings and I’m playing around with different media and color combinations.

The image below shows some of my emerging characters.  Due to the presidential election hoopla  this fall, these became politicians in bipartisan agreement, though this has nothing to do with the story I’m fabricating.  They have put aside their blow torch and shears and decided to get along.  Maybe the birds are constituents, or lobbyists.  I guess the alligators have agreed temporarily not to eat the hare.

Great Bicycle Accord_art_Lillian Trettin

The Great Bicycle Accord

 

Mountain Storyteller_art_Trettin

Mountain Storyteller

About Lillian-Trettin

I grew up in the Appalachian "Bible Belt" of East Tennessee in the southern United States, listening to banjo music and gospel lyrics as well as the Beatles. As a kid, I was curious about religious rituals like speaking in tongues and snake handling but resistant to the fundamentalist thinking they involved. Flannery O'Connor's tales of religious fanatics, con men, bigots, and the spiritually bereft or ambivalent resonate for me. Despite having traveled widely and lived in other places, I am (as so many Southerners claim to be) permanently "South haunted." I returned to making art full time in 2011, following a career as a teacher, researcher, and consultant and after raising two sons. I’m convinced the delay enriched rather than impeded my growth as an artist.
This entry was posted in Current work, The Other South and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

